Photo tip for the weekend

While you are cruising around this weekend, keep an eye out for textures.  I personally am fascinated with the textures I find in concrete sidewalks.  I have a huge folder full of photos of sidewalks.  Why?  Because I use them as texture overlays on photos! Sliced bread works well too!

Here is the photo I took the other night at the salt ponds:

IB1

And here is a photo I took of shadows on the sidewalk at the zoo the other day (yes, while most visitors are photographing the animals, I’m photographing the bark, the roots, the sidewalks, the shadows).IB3i

When I overlay that zoo photo with the salt pond photo and set my layer mode to Overlay, voila!  Looks like a painting.  Or as my Uncle Frank (who was a painter/sculptor) would say, “Looks so good, it looks like a bad painting!”IB2

This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

