Another Creative Map of My Brain

Ok, last week I created this map of my clay musings.  I limited my colors and my tools (okay, my 7 working fingers did that part!).

This is where I started and where I ended up.

This is where I started and where I ended up.

Believe it or not, Friday I actually found a shirt in my drawer that I can NO jewelry to match!  Well, okay, but not a PERFECT match.  Today, while I am STILL limited to 7 fingers, 1 palm and 1 good wrist, I decided to create another map.   I started with the same tools, same circular motifs, slightly different Sculpey Souffle colors and went from the piece at the bottom left to a Christmas tree.  I know! Right? Talk about a couple of left turns…

How did this happen?  Let’s take a look at all the steps:

This is second map starts with a piece from my first creative map.

This is second map starts with a piece from my first creative map.

Okay, yes, I love trees – especially at the holidays.  I grew up here in SoCal, so decorating with snow, snowflakes, snowmen just seemed silly.  Then my pagan neo-feminist mother wasn’t a big fan of Santa (“seriously like a MAN has anything to do with the decorating, baking, shopping, wrapping, etc”.) But trees, ahh, a symbol of life at the death of a year.  PERFECT.  I really like stylized

Doesn't it look like it's right out of an old Mario Game?

Doesn’t it look like it’s right out of an old Mario Game?

trees and this little tree looks like it just fell out of a old video game (the theme from Mario is playing in my head everytime I look at this!).

I love a stylized piece of nature!

I love a stylized piece of nature!

While I’m on the tree topic, here is my favorite holiday pendant. It takes people a moment to realize what it is, and then they go “ohhhhhhhhhh”.

 

I'm thinking this will be the final necklace of what I orginally intended to create today.

I’m thinking this will be the final necklace of what I orginally intended to create today.

Oh hey!  And the original necklace I started out to create?  I can’t put it together until I have both hands operational again, but this is what I’m thinking? You can see that I’ve kept the round motif from the original creative map.  Hey, if you want to know how I did the little tree or these donut beads, just drop a comment and if enough are interested, I’ll post the tutorial.

In case you missed the original creative map, here is the link:https://synssculpeyblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/12/my-creative-map/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

