Creative Map #2

Creative Map #2

Just thought I would pop in and share some of the stuff I’ve been trying to work on when I have a few moments during the holidays.  As you know, I’ve been OBSESSED with mixing the Moroccan colors for the NCT in January.  I started by mixing the Pantone Color of the Year, Marsala.  Well, it turns out that there is more than one way to create that color and I just kept going, “But wait!  What about..”  All this discovery yielded some very interesting scraps of color that I started messing with.  I guess I’m still not done with some of the shapes and patterns from the last Creative Map because I started with a finished piece from the last map and started moving from there.  I also jumped from Sculpey Souffle to Premo! because that was what had given me my color scraps for this week.

The new map - Creative Map #4

The new map – Creative Map #4

The necklace (which is my new fav piece to wear) in the upper left corner is where I started and I added in some of the mix color scraps.  I had to experiment with adding paint to the textures, but that didn’t work out.  Then I took the scraps I had left and created the pendant on the upper right.  I really like that simple design and I’ve worn it also several times.  That design can be downsized to create earrings as well.  I bent the wire around a piece of large wooden dowel and the beads were created kind of like the polka dots on the earlier map, just a little larger and with thicker layers.

Then I remembered the rickrack effect I had put on a previous piece (rickrack is making a comeback in fashion, especially metallic rickrack), so I wanted to experiment with cutting the rickrack patterns and putting them together.  (I’m using the Sculpey ripple blade to cut the rickrack btw).  I like the patterns I’m creating, but I haven’t got the right shape for the overall design yet.  But wait!  While having my afternoon healthy fruit snack (lying, it was chips!) I got an idea.  So stay tuned for the next creative map to somewhere….

150ImTeachingatPCAThe Polymer Clay Adventure starts in just DAYS!  Don’t miss out on a year long retreat with almost 800 other artists from around the world.  There are 22 different teachers with videos and PDFs that you can download and keep!  Clay whenever you feel like it, it’s available 7/24.  I’m the first teacher up on January 1, so join us at http://bit.ly/PCAsyndeeholt2015

 

This entry was posted in Clay, New Color Tuesday, Polymer Clay Adventure, polymer clay retreat and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

