It’s our “Moment”

“It’s my moment with my creation and I never quite have that same feeling again….”

View this project on the Sculpey website at: http://www.sculpey.com/project/premo-golden-opal-oval-bracelet/

View this project on the Sculpey website at: http://www.sculpey.com/project/premo-golden-opal-oval-bracelet/

When I was demoing at Sandy Camp last week, we were talking about the minor eccentricities of the new Sculpey Opal clay. I had suggested that clayers use small scissors to trim the opal flakes poking out the sides of their clay before baking.  Someone (oh those rowdy clay troublemakers) asked, “Why not trim it after it’s baked?” I took a second and then told them this:

 

“We have a wedding coming up in the family and I’ve gotten hooked on “Say Yes to the Dress” where it’s all about that “Bridal Moment”.  I think our “Clay Moment” happens when we take our piece out of the oven…I never again feel that same rush for that particular piece – it’s my moment with my creation and I never quite have that same feeling again.  And maybe that’s why I like that show – I know exactly what they are feeling!”

Now, don’t get me wrong – there are a variety of other positive emotions I experience as I complete the piece, admire the finished piece and share with others, but for me, there is nothing that rivals that feeling when I pull it hot from the oven.  How about you?  What is your favorite time?

Im teachingJoin us for the Polymer Clay Adventure 2016 – experience 24 different teachers, chat with artists from all over the world – all from the comfort of your own home.

And don’t forget that I will be teaching at Euro-Synergy 2 in France next July and Fandango next May!

 

This entry was posted in Clay, Polymer Clay Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

