Sculpey at Home (or at least MY home!)

Well, it’s raining steadily here in SoCal, so I’ve been working on cleaning up my photo galleries on my phone and computers. Since I haven’t posted in quite a while, I thought it would be fun to show y’all some of my Sculpey at work (or play) in my and around my home. Most of it qualifies as vintage since it has been in use for over 20 years now. For instance, these clay covered drawer pulls..

I liked the canes so much, I created the “backsplash” around the simple oval handle.
These are a little more recent, more like 10 years ago. I painted this inexpensive dresser without adding a base coat, so the paint separated, but I loved the look!
This old cracked vase was created with the, then new, Premo clay using the Scratch Art texture plates. Judith Skinner had just shown us how to make the Skinner Blend (she was a member of our guild).
Speaking of old, some of my Raku vases as well. The one on the right HAS to be at least 15 years old. The one in the front is what is left after I tripped on my sons shoe, fell down the steps. The glass shattered and some of the clay went with it, but the remaining shell is just a lovely statement to a broken foot. LOL

Sculpey decorated light switch covers are all over my house, many at least 20 years old now. I recently found this lil cutie (and 2 more) that we created by scanning my young boys drawings and transferring them to the clay many years ago. The boys colored the baked clay with soft lead colored pencils. The background color is created with stamping petals. It now graces my bathroom.

And speaking of ancient, this isn’t exactly polymer but it was created by my painting/staining my clay work on the top of my closed washing machine. The machine is right next to the garage sink, so I could easily wash my brushes right? When I had to replace my machine after 24 years, I asked the plumber to remove the lid from my old machine and it hangs in a place of honor in my reading nook/sunroom.

MODERN ART RIGHT?

Okay other ways my clay serves in my household? Most recently I’ve been using my scrap clay to hold some of my smaller Tillandsias. The left basket is scrap clay that I extruded and made an open weave bowls. I have others around my house to hold my keys by the door, little things in my room. The Tillys on the right are hanging out in leftover beads I had made. Jump rings hold them together and the plants are hot glued into place until their air roots have a chance to grab on.

Speaking of leftover beads and pendants – I’ve used some of mine to create a basket full of key chains! Even some scrap “test” clay bits can be used in this fashion!

Okay, two more of my favorite light switch covers…

Before I go, I want to leave you with one of my most favorite quotes, taken from the magnificent Magnolia Journal magazine this month (oh from the gorgeous paper it is printed on, to the photos, to the content, to the recipes… to small gems like this):

Our Take on Patience

To intentionally slow, still, and steady your life-in-motion, trusting there is purpose between beginnings and endings.”

Stay well! (and stay dry if ya are in this same mess) xoxo, syn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment